Cheers! To One Amazing Year

57434435

I don’t really blog. Which is why this is yet my second post since September of this year when I started this blog. But writing has always been a form of meditation for me. It’s fun. It keeps my brain from rusting and it’s challenging. It wasn’t many years ago when a dear friend made me realize that writing is a talent and that it is a talent that I have. Not many people can write after all. Many have tried, but only a few has been successful in finding the right words to speak their thoughts or in invoking thought and passion in the words they write.

So, it’s 4:33am and I am sleepless. Not very unusual. My sleeping pattern is as fucked up as the Philippine Government. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have given up in trying to sleep. It’s no use and I do not want to take another sleeping pill. It knocks me out for days!! So, I am writing instead: about how amazing this year has been for me. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am writing to thank all the great people that have become very important part of my life and my growth as a person. There’s so much to be thankful for. ๐Ÿ™‚

If there exists a ride that’s crazier than a roller coaster, that would be the best metaphor to describe how this year has been for me. It’s been hellish and epic awesome. Tragic and fun. Riddled with so much drama. Death threats. Or threat. It was just one (I think it’s kinda funny now but I was shit scared when I got it). Threats to be sued. Accusations and what not. But along that super crazy ride, I learned three great lessons.

The first lesson, and one of the best lessons I could hope to learn in my entire life is that: people come and go in our lives. And when they go, it’s always with a reason. This goes for everything: in work and in relationships. It’s okay to fire people if they’re doing a terrible job. It’s okay to burn bridges with friends if they have become stressors in your life.ย You can’t keep toxic people around you. It’s detrimental to your health. You have to let these people go. Stay with those who knows who you truly are and are true to you. Stay with the people who pushes you to be the best you can be and not those who judge you for your past mistakes. In short, know who really matters in your life.

This year, I was given the opportunity to set up and run the Philippines office of Platypus. This has been the highlight of my year, really. It’s crazy how we have grown from just 3 people to over 33! ๐Ÿ™‚ It all went by so fast. The whole year flew by like a whirlwind. There are times where I’ve found myself in deep shit trying to figure out what I’m doing and what I have to do but I survived them all. Still thriving up to date but I know I’m gonna be fine. I am still learning the ropes for sure but i’ve got great people to back me up. I am not scared.

On that Note, I would like to thank Bert, for believing soo much in me and for trusting me. I will do my best to not ever let you down. You are more than just a boss to me. You’re the big brother I never had. ๐Ÿ™‚ Same goes with Garrett who still thinks I’m awesome even though I fuck up sometimes. ๐Ÿ˜‰ To Lauren, for being very patient and understanding. You are amazing! You’re an inspiration to me. I wish to be as efficient and organized as you. To Priscilla, you are a walking sunshine and you were my first mentor! ๐Ÿ™‚ย  I always ask myself how i got so lucky to have had the opportunity to work with you guys! You are all amazing! ๐Ÿ™‚

To my PMS family, you guys rock! Thank you for being a part of this journey with me. I know I’m not the best manager out there. Nope. Not at all. But do know that I am trying and I will do my best to make sure that the office will flourish and that we all get to where we want to be. ๐Ÿ™‚

To everyone who has never lost hope in me… thank you too!

This year, I also learned that the cure to loneliness is love. Surround yourself with people who loves you and absorb their love. Stay close to your family and friends. Lean on them for support. Do not isolate yourself. Happiness is a choice. Choose to be happy.

To my family (titos and titas and, cousins and nephews and nieces lahat lahat na) and friends , thank you for all the support, encouragementย and understanding. I am sorry for the un-responded text messages and chat. To my mama and papa, thank you for being with me all the way. For staying up with me all night to help set up the office. For teaching me the basics on how to set up a business. For the words of wisdom. For the encouragement. I could not ask for better parents. Just lessen the nagging please. ๐Ÿ™‚ To my siblings, thank you as well. Thank you for all the understanding. For not waking me up to do house chores. haha. I feel super guilty but super thank you!

To Glamgirls. you are one of the best things that ever happened to me. Thanks for everything. I promise to remain close and humble. Humble daw. haha. murag unsa akong na.achieve. pffft! I don’t need chocolates, I have you guys. You are my go-to whenever I need a reminder that life is still amazing. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lastly, and I am still in the process of learning this lesson but this year, I also learned the importance of self love. Self love does not mean selfishness. It means listening to your mind, soul and body and making sure they get what they need. Take care of yourself.

To my one true love, you have taught me this. There’s not many words left to be said. Our whole relationship has always been a magical play of words. Communication has been our greatest strength. So I hope this will suffice: I LOVE YOU. MEAT. FOREVER. COMPLETELY.

Happy New Year Everyone! I love you all! ๐Ÿ˜€

Love,

Hazel

Leave a comment